Obama announces nominees for NSF deputy director head of DOE Office of

first_imgThe White House announced today that President Barack Obama has nominated engineer Richard Buckius, currently the National Science Foundation’s (NSF’s) chief operating officer, to fill the agency’s second highest position: deputy director.Obama also tapped physicist Cherry Murray of Harvard University to become the head of the Department of Energy’s (DOE’s) Office of Science, which oversees a $5 billion physical science research portfolio.Murray’s nomination follows the failure of the U.S. Senate to act on Obama’s 2013 pick for the Office of Science post, physicist Marc Kastner of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Cambridge. This past February, Kastner became the first president of the Science Philanthropy Alliance, a new research philanthropy. Email Sign up for our daily newsletter Get more great content like this delivered right to you! Country Country * Afghanistan Aland Islands Albania Algeria Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia, Plurinational State of Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Bouvet Island Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory Brunei Darussalam Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burundi Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cape Verde Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo Congo, the Democratic Republic of the Cook Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curaçao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Ethiopia Falkland Islands (Malvinas) Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia French Southern Territories Gabon Gambia Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Heard Island and McDonald Islands Holy See (Vatican City State) Honduras Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran, Islamic Republic of Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Republic of Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Lao People’s Democratic Republic Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libyan Arab Jamahiriya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macao Macedonia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Moldova, Republic of Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Myanmar Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island Norway Oman Pakistan Palestine Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Poland Portugal Qatar Reunion Romania Russian Federation Rwanda Saint Barthélemy Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Martin (French part) Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Sint Maarten (Dutch part) Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands South Sudan Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Svalbard and Jan Mayen Swaziland Sweden Switzerland Syrian Arab Republic Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania, United Republic of Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of Vietnam Virgin Islands, British Wallis and Futuna Western Sahara Yemen Zambia Zimbabwecenter_img Click to view the privacy policy. Required fields are indicated by an asterisk (*) Buckius has served as chief operating officer at NSF since October 2014, according to a White House statement, and senior science adviser since June 2014. He also served as assistant director of NSF’s engineering directorate from 2006 to 2008, and led an NSF division on chemical and transport systems from 2004 to 2005. Since 2008, he’s been a professor of mechanical engineering at Purdue University in Lafayette, Indiana, where he has also served as a vice president for research. Buckius received his Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkeley.Murray was dean of Harvard’s School of Engineering and Applied Sciences from 2009 to 2014. She has past DOE experience, having served as a top science administrator at the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory in California from 2004 to 2009. Murray also held numerous positions at Bell Laboratories and its predecessors from 1978 to 2004. Murray earned her Ph.D. from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and was awarded the National Medal of Technology and Innovation by the White House in 2014.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *